Edward Lear, Santa Maria di Luco, 1844.
Black chalk, pencil, heightened with white, on light grey paper. Signed and dated 1844 lower right, inscribed S. Maria di Luco lower left. 9.5 x 20 cm. (3 3/4 x 7 7/8 in).
John Scandrett Harford (1787-1866); thence by descent to the present owner.
Edward Lear, Illustrated Excursions in Italy, 1846, pl. 5
” … we were well pleased with the beautiful view of the Lake, and the group of Alba and Velino, now diminished by distance, yet forming a fine back-ground to the picturesque church and walls.” [op. cit., Lear, 1846, p. 21].